September 26, 2013


The 15th Mumbai film festival’s impressive line up of 200 movies and other highlights were revealed today at the curtain raiser press conference held at the Taj Mahal hotel  in the presence of Mr. Shyam Benegal, Filmmaker and Chairman, MAMI, Mr. Amit Khanna, and Mr. Ramesh Sippy, Trustees, MAMI, Mr. Srinivasan Narayanan, Director, Mumbai Film Festival along with various dignitaries from the Indian Entertainment industry.

This year too the festival has announced new initiatives as part of the Mumbai Film Mart (Filmy Room and India Project Room) and a brand new Experimental film section to the festival. These new initiatives will be in addition to the other competition sections such as the ‘International Competition’, ‘Celebrate Age’ and ‘Dimensions Mumbai’. The total prize money at this year’s festival is USD 220,000.

The 15th Mumbai film festival will also host a celebration of Spanish Cinema organized in tandem with the Embassy of Spain in India.  This celebration package will also include classics such as El Verdugo, Seven Days in January, Carmen amongst others.

In addition to this a special Spotlight on Cambodian films will be presented, while also continuing to showcase the blossoming film movement in Afghanistan with the Kabul Fresh section for the second year in succession. The festival will homage to Yash Chopra,  Rituparno Ghosh and Pran.

Furthermore the best of contemporary French cinema will be presented as part of ‘Rendez-vous with French Cinema’ section in association with the Embassy of France in India and Unifrance.

 Entertainment industry veterans and international personalities Costa Gavras and Kamal Hassan will be conferred with the annual Lifetime achievement award for their contribution made to global cinema.

The festival will also witness a one of a kind panel discussion organized by the Academy of Motion Picture arts and sciences, with eminent guests in attendance.

Side bar events at this year’s festival include master classes by acclaimed director Bruce Beresford, noted Editor Jill Billcock, a special Q & A with Leos Carax and Asghar Farhadi in addition to other planned activities. Noted German critic Daniel Kothenschulte will groom the collegians selected for ‘Mumbai Young Critics’.  Additionally a Music Composer lab has been set up and will be run by acclaimed composer Ilan Eshkeri of films such as Stardust, Johnny English, Ninja Assassin and Hannibal rising amongst others.  The Screenwriters lab will be conducted by Equinoxe with the attendance of Claire Dobbin, Script consultant and Chair of the Melbourne International Film Festival and James v. Hart scriptwriter of films such as “Hook” and “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” directed by Francis Ford Coppola.

This year’s ‘International Competition’ Jury will be presided by acclaimed director Bruce Beresford, of academy award winning film “Driving Miss Daisy”fame. He will be assisted by eminent film personalities including the French actress Nathalie Baye who has worked with pillars of the French Nouvelle Vague such as Francois Truffaut and Jean-Luc Goddard, Japanese film-maker Masato Harada who has made over 19 films in a 25 year career, the versatile actress Konkona Sen Sharma and award-winning director Deepa Mehta renowned for her path-breaking films Fire, Water and recently adapted Midnight’s children.

The Jury President for ‘India Gold 2012’ will be Oscar winning director Asghar Farhadi (A Separation and Le Passe). Fellow jury members will include Afghan film-maker Siddiq Barmak whose film Osama was nominated for the Academy awards, British director Waris Hussein, the award-winning editor Jill Bilcock who has films such as Moulin Rouge and Elizabeth to her credit and Roger Garcia, film critic and pundit on Asian cinema who is also the executive director of the Hong Kong International Film Festival.

The Celebrate Age competition Jury will be headed by noted director Hansal Mehta who’s most recent feature Shahid has been received with critical acclaim at festivals around the world. The jury panel will also consist of noted journalist Siddharth Bhatia, acclaimed photographer Ishika Mohan, director Tanuja Chandra and widely popular actor Divya dutta.

Renowned director Shoojit Sircar, whose films include Yahaan, Vicky Donor and the political thriller Madras Café, will preside over the Dimension Mumbai Jury.  Members of the Dimension Mumbai Jury also include noted actor Rajkumar Yadav  of Kai poche and Shahid fame, acclaimed director Ravi Jadhav whose films Natrang and Balak Palak was met with both critical and commercial acclaim, noted screenwriter Niranjan Iyengar  who has been credited with acclaim for his work in films such as Kurbaan, Wake up Sid and My name is Khan amongst numerous others and celebrated actor Tisca Chopra. The Mumbai Film Mart will be held at the Taj Vivanta by Taj President and will take place from the 18-20th of October. 

At a glance :

·         Over 200 films from over 65 Countries to be screened

·         USD 220,000 to be awarded as cash prizes
·         Costa Gravas and Kamal Hassan to be conferred with Lifetime Achievement awards

·         Leading talent such as Bruce Beresford, Asghar Farhadi, Leos Carax, Siddiq Barmark, Nathalie Baye, Masato Harada to attend

·         15th MFF will pay homage to Shri.Yash Chopra, Shri.Rituparno Ghosh and Shri. Pran
·         Celebration of Spanish cinema | spotlight on Cambodian cinema | 6th Rendez-vous with French cinema | Kabul Fresh :New voices in Afghan cinema |Experimental films |Costa Gravas retrospective |Leos Carax special tribute

·         Mumbai Film Mart will be held from 18-20 October and with new initiatives such as India Project room and Filmy Room

·         Special Master Classes by Industry veterans such as Bruce Beresford, song composer Ilan Eshkeri, editor Jill Bilcock, and filmmaker Leos Carax 

·         Special panels to be conducted by the Academy of Motion picture arts and sciences

No comments:

Post a Comment